PrivacyPick

ExpressVPN vs Windscribe Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating8.27.8
Pricing
  • $2.99/moBasic, 2 years
  • $3.99/moAdvanced, 2 years
  • $5.99/moExpress Pro, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Basic, 2 years: $83.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $419.72); then autorenews at $99.95/yr (~$8.33/mo). 10 simultaneous devices, lite ad/malware/adult-site blocking only.
  • Advanced, 2 years: $111.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $475.72); then autorenews at $119.95/yr (~$10/mo). 12 devices, adds ExpressKeys password manager, Advanced Protection (tracker blocking), and 3GB/3-day eSIM data.
  • Express Pro, 2 years: $167.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $643.72); then autorenews at $199.95/yr (~$16.66/mo). 14 devices, adds a dedicated IP included (not an add-on), unlimited email relay, and 500 daily ExpressAI credits.
  • $9.00/moPro, 1 month
  • $5.75/moPro, 1 year
  • $3.00/moBuild-A-Plan
Show billing details
  • Pro, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Pro, 1 year: $69/yr billed annually
  • Build-A-Plan: $1 per selected location per month, $3 minimum (3 locations); each location adds 10GB of bandwidth on top of the plan's base allowance
Established20092016
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditKPMG LLP 2025
Show audit details

23rd published third-party audit report overall; this one specifically examined the TrustedServer (RAM-only) system and no-logs claims under ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1. KPMG found no identified issues with technical safeguards against activity logging. Accessing the full report requires accepting KPMG's terms and conditions - not a fully open download. Most recent audit of any kind per ExpressVPN's Trust Center is a Cure53 review of ExpressMailGuard, published May 2026.

Packetlabs 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today.

JurisdictionBritish Virgin IslandsCanada
Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers113 countries
Show details

Exact server count not published as a specific figure.

69 countries, 120 cities
Show details

Paid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries.

Protocols
LightwayWireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
Devices14
Show details

14 devices is the Express Pro tier only; the cheapest Basic tier allows 10, the mid-tier Advanced 12.

Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblock
NetflixBBC iPlayer
Not specified