PrivacyPick

ExpressVPN vs Surfshark Comparison

Read full breakdown →
Feature
Overview
Rating8.28.0
Pricing
  • $2.99/moBasic, 2 years
  • $3.99/moAdvanced, 2 years
  • $5.99/moExpress Pro, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Basic, 2 years: $83.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $419.72); then autorenews at $99.95/yr (~$8.33/mo). 10 simultaneous devices, lite ad/malware/adult-site blocking only.
  • Advanced, 2 years: $111.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $475.72); then autorenews at $119.95/yr (~$10/mo). 12 devices, adds ExpressKeys password manager, Advanced Protection (tracker blocking), and 3GB/3-day eSIM data.
  • Express Pro, 2 years: $167.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $643.72); then autorenews at $199.95/yr (~$16.66/mo). 14 devices, adds a dedicated IP included (not an add-on), unlimited email relay, and 500 daily ExpressAI credits.
  • $16.45/moStarter, 1 month
  • $3.39/moStarter, 1 year
  • $2.49/moStarter, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Starter, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Starter, 1 year: Intro rate for the first 12 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
  • Starter, 2 years: Intro rate for the first 24 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo, 1-year term) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
Established20092018
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditKPMG LLP 2025
Show audit details

23rd published third-party audit report overall; this one specifically examined the TrustedServer (RAM-only) system and no-logs claims under ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1. KPMG found no identified issues with technical safeguards against activity logging. Accessing the full report requires accepting KPMG's terms and conditions - not a fully open download. Most recent audit of any kind per ExpressVPN's Trust Center is a Cure53 review of ExpressMailGuard, published May 2026.

Deloitte 2025
Show audit details

Second no-logs assurance engagement (first was 2023). Report published June 16 2025, updated November 26 2025; exact assessment period not disclosed. Examined standard, static, and multiport VPN servers, configuration/deployment processes, and privacy settings. Full ISAE 3000 report is only available to logged-in Surfshark account holders, not publicly downloadable. Separately, SecuRing completed an infrastructure security audit in December 2025, confirming network resilience with no critical vulnerabilities found.

JurisdictionBritish Virgin IslandsNetherlands
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers113 countries
Show details

Exact server count not published as a specific figure.

4,500+ servers
Show details

100 countries — consistent across Surfshark's pricing and features pages.

Protocols
LightwayWireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Dausos (macOS only)
Devices14
Show details

14 devices is the Express Pro tier only; the cheapest Basic tier allows 10, the mid-tier Advanced 12.

Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedYes
Rotating IPNot specifiedYes
Streaming unblock
NetflixBBC iPlayer
Not specified