PrivacyPick

ExpressVPN vs Proton VPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating8.28.8
Pricing
  • $2.99/moBasic, 2 years
  • $3.99/moAdvanced, 2 years
  • $5.99/moExpress Pro, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Basic, 2 years: $83.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $419.72); then autorenews at $99.95/yr (~$8.33/mo). 10 simultaneous devices, lite ad/malware/adult-site blocking only.
  • Advanced, 2 years: $111.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $475.72); then autorenews at $119.95/yr (~$10/mo). 12 devices, adds ExpressKeys password manager, Advanced Protection (tracker blocking), and 3GB/3-day eSIM data.
  • Express Pro, 2 years: $167.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $643.72); then autorenews at $199.95/yr (~$16.66/mo). 14 devices, adds a dedicated IP included (not an add-on), unlimited email relay, and 500 daily ExpressAI credits.
  • $9.99/moVPN Plus, 1 month
  • $3.99/moVPN Plus, 1 year
  • $2.99/moVPN Plus, 2 years
Show billing details
  • VPN Plus, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • VPN Plus, 1 year: $47.88 for the first 12 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
  • VPN Plus, 2 years: $71.76 for the first 24 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
Established20092017
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditKPMG LLP 2025
Show audit details

23rd published third-party audit report overall; this one specifically examined the TrustedServer (RAM-only) system and no-logs claims under ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1. KPMG found no identified issues with technical safeguards against activity logging. Accessing the full report requires accepting KPMG's terms and conditions - not a fully open download. Most recent audit of any kind per ExpressVPN's Trust Center is a Cure53 review of ExpressMailGuard, published May 2026.

Securitum 2026
Show audit details

Fifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required.

JurisdictionBritish Virgin IslandsSwitzerland
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers113 countries
Show details

Exact server count not published as a specific figure.

20,000+ servers in 140+ countries
Protocols
LightwayWireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth
Devices14
Show details

14 devices is the Express Pro tier only; the cheapest Basic tier allows 10, the mid-tier Advanced 12.

10
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblock
NetflixBBC iPlayer
NetflixDisney+