Proton VPN vs Windscribe Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 8.8 | 7.8 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2017 | 2016 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Securitum 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsFifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required. | Packetlabs 2024Show audit detailsHide audit detailsMost recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today. |
| Jurisdiction | Switzerland | Canada |
| Anonymous accounts | No | Yes |
| Network | ||
| Servers | 20,000+ servers in 140+ countries | 69 countries, 120 citiesShow detailsHide detailsPaid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries. |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2 |
| Devices | 10 | Unlimited |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | NetflixDisney+ | Not specified |