PrivacyPick

Private Internet Access vs Windscribe Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.77.8
Pricing
  • $11.95/mo1 month
  • $3.33/mo1 year
  • $1.33/mo3 years + 3 months
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews at the same rate
  • 1 year: $39.95 for the first year; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews annually at the same $39.95 — but several independent aggregators report a jump to roughly $56-57/yr (~$4.70-4.75/mo) instead, a discrepancy this review could not independently reconcile
  • 3 years + 3 months: $79 billed every 3 years (3 bonus months included in the discount); PIA's own pricing page states this also autorenews at the same $79 rate, subject to the same unresolved renewal-price discrepancy noted above
  • $9.00/moPro, 1 month
  • $5.75/moPro, 1 year
  • $3.00/moBuild-A-Plan
Show billing details
  • Pro, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Pro, 1 year: $69/yr billed annually
  • Build-A-Plan: $1 per selected location per month, $3 minimum (3 locations); each location adds 10GB of bandwidth on top of the plan's base allowance
Established20102016
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditDeloitte Audit Romania 2024
Show audit details

Second of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit.

Packetlabs 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today.

JurisdictionUnited StatesCanada
Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers91 countries, 105 locations
Show details

As of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK).

69 countries, 120 cities
Show details

Paid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
DevicesUnlimitedUnlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified