PrivacyPick

Private Internet Access vs Proton VPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.78.8
Pricing
  • $11.95/mo1 month
  • $3.33/mo1 year
  • $1.33/mo3 years + 3 months
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews at the same rate
  • 1 year: $39.95 for the first year; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews annually at the same $39.95 — but several independent aggregators report a jump to roughly $56-57/yr (~$4.70-4.75/mo) instead, a discrepancy this review could not independently reconcile
  • 3 years + 3 months: $79 billed every 3 years (3 bonus months included in the discount); PIA's own pricing page states this also autorenews at the same $79 rate, subject to the same unresolved renewal-price discrepancy noted above
  • $9.99/moVPN Plus, 1 month
  • $3.99/moVPN Plus, 1 year
  • $2.99/moVPN Plus, 2 years
Show billing details
  • VPN Plus, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • VPN Plus, 1 year: $47.88 for the first 12 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
  • VPN Plus, 2 years: $71.76 for the first 24 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
Established20102017
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditDeloitte Audit Romania 2024
Show audit details

Second of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit.

Securitum 2026
Show audit details

Fifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required.

JurisdictionUnited StatesSwitzerland
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers91 countries, 105 locations
Show details

As of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK).

20,000+ servers in 140+ countries
Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth
DevicesUnlimited10
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specified
NetflixDisney+