PrivacyPick

IVPN vs Private Internet Access Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating8.17.7
Pricing
  • $6.00/moStandard, 1 month
  • $5.00/moStandard, 1 year
  • $8.33/moPro Suite, 1 year
Show billing details
  • Standard, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Standard, 1 year: $60/yr billed annually — flat rate, same price every renewal
  • Pro Suite, 1 year: $100/yr billed annually — adds Mailx, modDNS, and Portmaster Pro plus a 10-device limit
  • $11.95/mo1 month
  • $3.33/mo1 year
  • $1.33/mo3 years + 3 months
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews at the same rate
  • 1 year: $39.95 for the first year; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews annually at the same $39.95 — but several independent aggregators report a jump to roughly $56-57/yr (~$4.70-4.75/mo) instead, a discrepancy this review could not independently reconcile
  • 3 years + 3 months: $79 billed every 3 years (3 bonus months included in the discount); PIA's own pricing page states this also autorenews at the same $79 rate, subject to the same unresolved renewal-price discrepancy noted above
Established20092010
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditCure53 2024
Show audit details

Sixth of eight annual Cure53 audits conducted without a break since 2019, covering the customer website UI, API, and backend web infrastructure (2 low-severity issues found, both remediated). The original no-logs claim itself was verified separately by Cure53 in March 2019 (VPN gateway and authentication servers), and a 2023 audit covered VPN gateway server infrastructure directly. An eighth audit, covering the cryptography and privacy model of the core authentication system, was underway in July 2026 with results not yet published.

Deloitte Audit Romania 2024
Show audit details

Second of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit.

JurisdictionGibraltarUnited States
Anonymous accountsYesNo
Network
Servers~77 servers, 40-41 countries
Show details

Approximate, per third-party trackers. IVPN doesn't publish a single definitive count and directs users to a live server-status page instead.

91 countries, 105 locations
Show details

As of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK).

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPN
Devices5-10
Show details

5 on Standard/Plus, 10 on the Pro Suite.

Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified