PrivacyPick

OVPN vs Windscribe Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.47.8
Pricing
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
  • $9.00/moPro, 1 month
  • $5.75/moPro, 1 year
  • $3.00/moBuild-A-Plan
Show billing details
  • Pro, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Pro, 1 year: $69/yr billed annually
  • Build-A-Plan: $1 per selected location per month, $3 minimum (3 locations); each location adds 10GB of bandwidth on top of the plan's base allowance
Established20142016
Platforms
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditCure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

Packetlabs 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today.

JurisdictionUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Canada
Anonymous accountsYesYes
Network
Servers96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

69 countries, 120 cities
Show details

Paid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
Devices4 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblock
Netflix
Not specified