PrivacyPick

OVPN vs Proton VPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.48.8
Pricing
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
  • $9.99/moVPN Plus, 1 month
  • $3.99/moVPN Plus, 1 year
  • $2.99/moVPN Plus, 2 years
Show billing details
  • VPN Plus, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • VPN Plus, 1 year: $47.88 for the first 12 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
  • VPN Plus, 2 years: $71.76 for the first 24 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
Established20142017
Platforms
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditCure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

Securitum 2026
Show audit details

Fifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required.

JurisdictionUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Switzerland
Anonymous accountsYesNo
Network
Servers96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

20,000+ servers in 140+ countries
Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth
Devices4 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

10
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblock
Netflix
NetflixDisney+