IVPN vs OVPN Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 8.1 | 7.4 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2009 | 2014 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Cure53 2024Show audit detailsHide audit detailsSixth of eight annual Cure53 audits conducted without a break since 2019, covering the customer website UI, API, and backend web infrastructure (2 low-severity issues found, both remediated). The original no-logs claim itself was verified separately by Cure53 in March 2019 (VPN gateway and authentication servers), and a 2023 audit covered VPN gateway server infrastructure directly. An eighth audit, covering the cryptography and privacy model of the core authentication system, was underway in July 2026 with results not yet published. | Cure53 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsIndependent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership. |
| Jurisdiction | Gibraltar | United StatesShow detailsHide detailsOperating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard. |
| Anonymous accounts | Yes | Yes |
| Network | ||
| Servers | ~77 servers, 40-41 countriesShow detailsHide detailsApproximate, per third-party trackers. IVPN doesn't publish a single definitive count and directs users to a live server-status page instead. | 96 servers, 32 cities/regionsShow detailsHide detailsPer OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers. |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2 | WireGuardOpenVPN |
| Devices | 5-10Show detailsHide details5 on Standard/Plus, 10 on the Pro Suite. | 4 + 1/yearShow detailsHide details4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy. |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | Not specified | Netflix |
