PrivacyPick

IPVanish vs Windscribe Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating6.97.8
Pricing
  • $12.99/moEssential, 1 month
  • $3.33/moEssential, 1 year
  • $2.19/moEssential, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Essential, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Essential, 1 year: $39.99 for the first year (list price $155.88); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • Essential, 2 years: $52.56 for the first 2 years (list price $311.76); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • $9.00/moPro, 1 month
  • $5.75/moPro, 1 year
  • $3.00/moBuild-A-Plan
Show billing details
  • Pro, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Pro, 1 year: $69/yr billed annually
  • Build-A-Plan: $1 per selected location per month, $3 minimum (3 locations); each location adds 10GB of bandwidth on top of the plan's base allowance
Established20122016
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSchellman Compliance, LLC 2025
Show audit details

Second of two independent no-logs audits: Leviathan Security Group reviewed no-traffic-logs policy compliance in April 2022, and Schellman Compliance, LLC reviewed no-logs policy compliance in April 2025. Neither full report is freely public — IPVanish states customers can access the full report through the Security Reports section of the account portal, and journalists can request it by email. IPVanish also publishes a quarterly transparency report with concrete request/disclosure figures (see Jurisdiction section).

Packetlabs 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today.

JurisdictionUnited StatesCanada
Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers3,400+ servers, 113 countries
Show details

150+ locations, 56,000+ IP addresses. ~35% of the network (~1,000 servers, 25 locations) moved to RAM-only as of the September 2025 rollout; full RAM-only conversion targeted for 2027.

69 countries, 120 cities
Show details

Paid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
DevicesUnlimitedUnlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified