PrivacyPick

IPVanish vs Proton VPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating6.98.8
Pricing
  • $12.99/moEssential, 1 month
  • $3.33/moEssential, 1 year
  • $2.19/moEssential, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Essential, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Essential, 1 year: $39.99 for the first year (list price $155.88); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • Essential, 2 years: $52.56 for the first 2 years (list price $311.76); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • $9.99/moVPN Plus, 1 month
  • $3.99/moVPN Plus, 1 year
  • $2.99/moVPN Plus, 2 years
Show billing details
  • VPN Plus, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • VPN Plus, 1 year: $47.88 for the first 12 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
  • VPN Plus, 2 years: $71.76 for the first 24 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
Established20122017
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSchellman Compliance, LLC 2025
Show audit details

Second of two independent no-logs audits: Leviathan Security Group reviewed no-traffic-logs policy compliance in April 2022, and Schellman Compliance, LLC reviewed no-logs policy compliance in April 2025. Neither full report is freely public — IPVanish states customers can access the full report through the Security Reports section of the account portal, and journalists can request it by email. IPVanish also publishes a quarterly transparency report with concrete request/disclosure figures (see Jurisdiction section).

Securitum 2026
Show audit details

Fifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required.

JurisdictionUnited StatesSwitzerland
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers3,400+ servers, 113 countries
Show details

150+ locations, 56,000+ IP addresses. ~35% of the network (~1,000 servers, 25 locations) moved to RAM-only as of the September 2025 rollout; full RAM-only conversion targeted for 2027.

20,000+ servers in 140+ countries
Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth
DevicesUnlimited10
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specified
NetflixDisney+