PrivacyPick

Hide.me vs Private Internet Access Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.77.7
Pricing
  • $11.99/moPremium, 1 month
  • $4.58/moPremium, 12 months
  • $2.69/moPremium, 26 months
Show billing details
  • Premium, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Premium, 12 months: $54.99 billed every 12 months
  • Premium, 26 months: 24 months + 2 bonus months, $69.99 billed every 26 months. hide.me's own pricing page states, as a labeled 'Pricing Guarantee': 'Your plan always renews with the same price and duration' — a clear, explicit claim, but still the provider's own statement rather than independent third-party verification
  • $11.95/mo1 month
  • $3.33/mo1 year
  • $1.33/mo3 years + 3 months
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews at the same rate
  • 1 year: $39.95 for the first year; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews annually at the same $39.95 — but several independent aggregators report a jump to roughly $56-57/yr (~$4.70-4.75/mo) instead, a discrepancy this review could not independently reconcile
  • 3 years + 3 months: $79 billed every 3 years (3 bonus months included in the discount); PIA's own pricing page states this also autorenews at the same $79 rate, subject to the same unresolved renewal-price discrepancy noted above
Established20122010
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSecuritum 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of two substantive no-logs audits, nine years apart: Defense Code Ltd audited hide.me's no-logs claim in 2015, and Securitum, a Polish cybersecurity firm, reviewed server configuration, network architecture, and logging infrastructure in July 2024, finding no evidence of activity-log creation or storage on the production fleet. hide.me also holds a VPN Trust Initiative (VTI) Trust Seal, first awarded 2023 and re-accredited late 2025 — an industry-consortium compliance certification, not a full independent technical audit.

Deloitte Audit Romania 2024
Show audit details

Second of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit.

JurisdictionMalaysiaUnited States
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers~2,600 servers, 91 countries
Show details

Approximate figure per independent trackers; hide.me's own domain blocks automated fetches.

91 countries, 105 locations
Show details

As of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK).

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2SoftEtherSSTP
WireGuardOpenVPN
Devices10Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified