Hide.me vs Proton VPN Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 7.7 | 8.8 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2012 | 2017 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Securitum 2024Show audit detailsHide audit detailsMost recent of two substantive no-logs audits, nine years apart: Defense Code Ltd audited hide.me's no-logs claim in 2015, and Securitum, a Polish cybersecurity firm, reviewed server configuration, network architecture, and logging infrastructure in July 2024, finding no evidence of activity-log creation or storage on the production fleet. hide.me also holds a VPN Trust Initiative (VTI) Trust Seal, first awarded 2023 and re-accredited late 2025 — an industry-consortium compliance certification, not a full independent technical audit. | Securitum 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsFifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required. |
| Jurisdiction | Malaysia | Switzerland |
| Anonymous accounts | No | No |
| Network | ||
| Servers | ~2,600 servers, 91 countriesShow detailsHide detailsApproximate figure per independent trackers; hide.me's own domain blocks automated fetches. | 20,000+ servers in 140+ countries |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2SoftEtherSSTP | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth |
| Devices | 10 | 10 |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | Not specified | NetflixDisney+ |