PrivacyPick

Hide.me vs OVPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.77.4
Pricing
  • $11.99/moPremium, 1 month
  • $4.58/moPremium, 12 months
  • $2.69/moPremium, 26 months
Show billing details
  • Premium, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Premium, 12 months: $54.99 billed every 12 months
  • Premium, 26 months: 24 months + 2 bonus months, $69.99 billed every 26 months. hide.me's own pricing page states, as a labeled 'Pricing Guarantee': 'Your plan always renews with the same price and duration' — a clear, explicit claim, but still the provider's own statement rather than independent third-party verification
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
Established20122014
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSecuritum 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of two substantive no-logs audits, nine years apart: Defense Code Ltd audited hide.me's no-logs claim in 2015, and Securitum, a Polish cybersecurity firm, reviewed server configuration, network architecture, and logging infrastructure in July 2024, finding no evidence of activity-log creation or storage on the production fleet. hide.me also holds a VPN Trust Initiative (VTI) Trust Seal, first awarded 2023 and re-accredited late 2025 — an industry-consortium compliance certification, not a full independent technical audit.

Cure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

JurisdictionMalaysiaUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers~2,600 servers, 91 countries
Show details

Approximate figure per independent trackers; hide.me's own domain blocks automated fetches.

96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2SoftEtherSSTP
WireGuardOpenVPN
Devices104 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specified
Netflix