PrivacyPick

ExpressVPN vs OVPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating8.27.4
Pricing
  • $2.99/moBasic, 2 years
  • $3.99/moAdvanced, 2 years
  • $5.99/moExpress Pro, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Basic, 2 years: $83.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $419.72); then autorenews at $99.95/yr (~$8.33/mo). 10 simultaneous devices, lite ad/malware/adult-site blocking only.
  • Advanced, 2 years: $111.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $475.72); then autorenews at $119.95/yr (~$10/mo). 12 devices, adds ExpressKeys password manager, Advanced Protection (tracker blocking), and 3GB/3-day eSIM data.
  • Express Pro, 2 years: $167.72 for the first 28 months (2 years + 4 bonus months, discounted from $643.72); then autorenews at $199.95/yr (~$16.66/mo). 14 devices, adds a dedicated IP included (not an add-on), unlimited email relay, and 500 daily ExpressAI credits.
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
Established20092014
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditKPMG LLP 2025
Show audit details

23rd published third-party audit report overall; this one specifically examined the TrustedServer (RAM-only) system and no-logs claims under ISAE (UK) 3000 Type 1. KPMG found no identified issues with technical safeguards against activity logging. Accessing the full report requires accepting KPMG's terms and conditions - not a fully open download. Most recent audit of any kind per ExpressVPN's Trust Center is a Cure53 review of ExpressMailGuard, published May 2026.

Cure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

JurisdictionBritish Virgin IslandsUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers113 countries
Show details

Exact server count not published as a specific figure.

96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

Protocols
LightwayWireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPN
Devices14
Show details

14 devices is the Express Pro tier only; the cheapest Basic tier allows 10, the mid-tier Advanced 12.

4 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblock
NetflixBBC iPlayer
Netflix