Surfshark vs Windscribe Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 8.0 | 7.8 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2018 | 2016 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Deloitte 2025Show audit detailsHide audit detailsSecond no-logs assurance engagement (first was 2023). Report published June 16 2025, updated November 26 2025; exact assessment period not disclosed. Examined standard, static, and multiport VPN servers, configuration/deployment processes, and privacy settings. Full ISAE 3000 report is only available to logged-in Surfshark account holders, not publicly downloadable. Separately, SecuRing completed an infrastructure security audit in December 2025, confirming network resilience with no critical vulnerabilities found. | Packetlabs 2024Show audit detailsHide audit detailsMost recent of three public audits. Packetlabs audited the FreshScribe server stack (production infrastructure) in June 2024, with a positive outcome. Separately, Leviathan Security Group audited the desktop app (September 2021) and the Android/iOS apps (March 2022) — both also public. An earlier Cure53 audit (Nov-Dec 2022) covered only a pre-production alpha version of FreshScribe, not the system in production today. |
| Jurisdiction | Netherlands | Canada |
| Anonymous accounts | No | Yes |
| Network | ||
| Servers | 4,500+ serversShow detailsHide details100 countries — consistent across Surfshark's pricing and features pages. | 69 countries, 120 citiesShow detailsHide detailsPaid tier. Free tier limited to 11 countries. |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Dausos (macOS only) | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2 |
| Devices | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Yes | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Yes | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | Not specified | Not specified |