OVPN vs Private Internet Access Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 7.4 | 7.7 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2014 | 2010 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Cure53 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsIndependent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership. | Deloitte Audit Romania 2024Show audit detailsHide audit detailsSecond of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit. |
| Jurisdiction | United StatesShow detailsHide detailsOperating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard. | United States |
| Anonymous accounts | Yes | No |
| Network | ||
| Servers | 96 servers, 32 cities/regionsShow detailsHide detailsPer OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers. | 91 countries, 105 locationsShow detailsHide detailsAs of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK). |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPN | WireGuardOpenVPN |
| Devices | 4 + 1/yearShow detailsHide details4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy. | Unlimited |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | Netflix | Not specified |
