PrivacyPick

IPVanish vs Private Internet Access Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating6.97.7
Pricing
  • $12.99/moEssential, 1 month
  • $3.33/moEssential, 1 year
  • $2.19/moEssential, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Essential, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Essential, 1 year: $39.99 for the first year (list price $155.88); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • Essential, 2 years: $52.56 for the first 2 years (list price $311.76); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • $11.95/mo1 month
  • $3.33/mo1 year
  • $1.33/mo3 years + 3 months
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews at the same rate
  • 1 year: $39.95 for the first year; PIA's own pricing page states this autorenews annually at the same $39.95 — but several independent aggregators report a jump to roughly $56-57/yr (~$4.70-4.75/mo) instead, a discrepancy this review could not independently reconcile
  • 3 years + 3 months: $79 billed every 3 years (3 bonus months included in the discount); PIA's own pricing page states this also autorenews at the same $79 rate, subject to the same unresolved renewal-price discrepancy noted above
Established20122010
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSchellman Compliance, LLC 2025
Show audit details

Second of two independent no-logs audits: Leviathan Security Group reviewed no-traffic-logs policy compliance in April 2022, and Schellman Compliance, LLC reviewed no-logs policy compliance in April 2025. Neither full report is freely public — IPVanish states customers can access the full report through the Security Reports section of the account portal, and journalists can request it by email. IPVanish also publishes a quarterly transparency report with concrete request/disclosure figures (see Jurisdiction section).

Deloitte Audit Romania 2024
Show audit details

Second of two independent Deloitte audits under the ISAE 3000 (Revised) standard: the first, completed as of June 30, 2022, examined VPN server network, configuration, and management systems against PIA's stated privacy policy; the second, referenced in a blog post updated April 25, 2024 (the audit's own completion date isn't stated more precisely than that), added a review of PIA's dedicated-IP token system. Beyond the audits, PIA's no-logs claim has been tested adversarially in at least two documented US court cases (a 2016 FBI investigation and a 2018 federal hacking trial) where subpoenas produced zero user data — a different, arguably stronger kind of evidence than a commissioned audit.

JurisdictionUnited StatesUnited States
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers3,400+ servers, 113 countries
Show details

150+ locations, 56,000+ IP addresses. ~35% of the network (~1,000 servers, 25 locations) moved to RAM-only as of the September 2025 rollout; full RAM-only conversion targeted for 2027.

91 countries, 105 locations
Show details

As of a January 2026 expansion (up from 84 countries), including all 50 US states. PIA no longer publishes an exact total server count, and some locations use virtual servers geo-located elsewhere (e.g. India/Indonesia servers physically sited in Singapore/UK).

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPN
DevicesUnlimitedUnlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified