PrivacyPick

IPVanish vs OVPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating6.97.4
Pricing
  • $12.99/moEssential, 1 month
  • $3.33/moEssential, 1 year
  • $2.19/moEssential, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Essential, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Essential, 1 year: $39.99 for the first year (list price $155.88); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • Essential, 2 years: $52.56 for the first 2 years (list price $311.76); renews yearly at $89.99 (~$7.50/mo)
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
Established20122014
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSchellman Compliance, LLC 2025
Show audit details

Second of two independent no-logs audits: Leviathan Security Group reviewed no-traffic-logs policy compliance in April 2022, and Schellman Compliance, LLC reviewed no-logs policy compliance in April 2025. Neither full report is freely public — IPVanish states customers can access the full report through the Security Reports section of the account portal, and journalists can request it by email. IPVanish also publishes a quarterly transparency report with concrete request/disclosure figures (see Jurisdiction section).

Cure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

JurisdictionUnited StatesUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Anonymous accountsNoYes
Network
Servers3,400+ servers, 113 countries
Show details

150+ locations, 56,000+ IP addresses. ~35% of the network (~1,000 servers, 25 locations) moved to RAM-only as of the September 2025 rollout; full RAM-only conversion targeted for 2027.

96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPN
DevicesUnlimited4 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specified
Netflix