PrivacyPick

Hide.me vs Surfshark Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.78.0
Pricing
  • $11.99/moPremium, 1 month
  • $4.58/moPremium, 12 months
  • $2.69/moPremium, 26 months
Show billing details
  • Premium, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Premium, 12 months: $54.99 billed every 12 months
  • Premium, 26 months: 24 months + 2 bonus months, $69.99 billed every 26 months. hide.me's own pricing page states, as a labeled 'Pricing Guarantee': 'Your plan always renews with the same price and duration' — a clear, explicit claim, but still the provider's own statement rather than independent third-party verification
  • $16.45/moStarter, 1 month
  • $3.39/moStarter, 1 year
  • $2.49/moStarter, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Starter, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Starter, 1 year: Intro rate for the first 12 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
  • Starter, 2 years: Intro rate for the first 24 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo, 1-year term) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
Established20122018
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditSecuritum 2024
Show audit details

Most recent of two substantive no-logs audits, nine years apart: Defense Code Ltd audited hide.me's no-logs claim in 2015, and Securitum, a Polish cybersecurity firm, reviewed server configuration, network architecture, and logging infrastructure in July 2024, finding no evidence of activity-log creation or storage on the production fleet. hide.me also holds a VPN Trust Initiative (VTI) Trust Seal, first awarded 2023 and re-accredited late 2025 — an industry-consortium compliance certification, not a full independent technical audit.

Deloitte 2025
Show audit details

Second no-logs assurance engagement (first was 2023). Report published June 16 2025, updated November 26 2025; exact assessment period not disclosed. Examined standard, static, and multiport VPN servers, configuration/deployment processes, and privacy settings. Full ISAE 3000 report is only available to logged-in Surfshark account holders, not publicly downloadable. Separately, SecuRing completed an infrastructure security audit in December 2025, confirming network resilience with no critical vulnerabilities found.

JurisdictionMalaysiaNetherlands
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers~2,600 servers, 91 countries
Show details

Approximate figure per independent trackers; hide.me's own domain blocks automated fetches.

4,500+ servers
Show details

100 countries — consistent across Surfshark's pricing and features pages.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2SoftEtherSSTP
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Dausos (macOS only)
Devices10Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedYes
Rotating IPNot specifiedYes
Streaming unblockNot specifiedNot specified