PrivacyPick

IVPN vs Proton VPN Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating8.18.8
Pricing
  • $6.00/moStandard, 1 month
  • $5.00/moStandard, 1 year
  • $8.33/moPro Suite, 1 year
Show billing details
  • Standard, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Standard, 1 year: $60/yr billed annually — flat rate, same price every renewal
  • Pro Suite, 1 year: $100/yr billed annually — adds Mailx, modDNS, and Portmaster Pro plus a 10-device limit
  • $9.99/moVPN Plus, 1 month
  • $3.99/moVPN Plus, 1 year
  • $2.99/moVPN Plus, 2 years
Show billing details
  • VPN Plus, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • VPN Plus, 1 year: $47.88 for the first 12 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
  • VPN Plus, 2 years: $71.76 for the first 24 months, then renews at $83.88/yr ($6.99/mo)
Established20092017
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditCure53 2024
Show audit details

Sixth of eight annual Cure53 audits conducted without a break since 2019, covering the customer website UI, API, and backend web infrastructure (2 low-severity issues found, both remediated). The original no-logs claim itself was verified separately by Cure53 in March 2019 (VPN gateway and authentication servers), and a 2023 audit covered VPN gateway server infrastructure directly. An eighth audit, covering the cryptography and privacy model of the core authentication system, was underway in July 2026 with results not yet published.

Securitum 2026
Show audit details

Fifth consecutive annual no-logs audit. On-site assessment at Proton's Zurich office, May 20-22 2026, findings announced June 16 2026. Reviewed VPN configuration files, server configs, operating procedures, and staff interviews across ten criteria including activity tracking, metadata logging, and user-server association. All five years of reports (2022-2026) are publicly downloadable, no login required.

JurisdictionGibraltarSwitzerland
Anonymous accountsYesNo
Network
Servers~77 servers, 40-41 countries
Show details

Approximate, per third-party trackers. IVPN doesn't publish a single definitive count and directs users to a live server-status page instead.

20,000+ servers in 140+ countries
Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Stealth
Devices5-10
Show details

5 on Standard/Plus, 10 on the Pro Suite.

10
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedNot specified
Rotating IPNot specifiedNot specified
Streaming unblockNot specified
NetflixDisney+