PrivacyPick

OVPN vs Surfshark Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.48.0
Pricing
  • $12.00/mo1 month
  • $4.99/mo1 year
  • $4.22/mo3 years
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • 1 year: Billed annually; presented as a standing rate on OVPN's own pricing page rather than a discounted intro price with a separate renewal figure
  • 3 years: Billed once every 3 years, marketed as 'best value'; same standing-rate presentation as the annual term
  • $16.45/moStarter, 1 month
  • $3.39/moStarter, 1 year
  • $2.49/moStarter, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Starter, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Starter, 1 year: Intro rate for the first 12 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
  • Starter, 2 years: Intro rate for the first 24 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo, 1-year term) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
Established20142018
Platforms
WindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditCure53 2026
Show audit details

Independent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership.

Deloitte 2025
Show audit details

Second no-logs assurance engagement (first was 2023). Report published June 16 2025, updated November 26 2025; exact assessment period not disclosed. Examined standard, static, and multiport VPN servers, configuration/deployment processes, and privacy settings. Full ISAE 3000 report is only available to logged-in Surfshark account holders, not publicly downloadable. Separately, SecuRing completed an infrastructure security audit in December 2025, confirming network resilience with no critical vulnerabilities found.

JurisdictionUnited States
Show details

Operating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard.

Netherlands
Anonymous accountsYesNo
Network
Servers96 servers, 32 cities/regions
Show details

Per OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers.

4,500+ servers
Show details

100 countries — consistent across Surfshark's pricing and features pages.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPN
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Dausos (macOS only)
Devices4 + 1/year
Show details

4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy.

Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedYes
Rotating IPNot specifiedYes
Streaming unblock
Netflix
Not specified