NordVPN vs OVPN Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 8.3 | 7.4 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2012 | 2014 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Deloitte Lithuania 2025Show audit detailsHide audit detailsSixth no-logs assurance engagement, ISAE 3000 (Revised) framework. Assessment period Nov 10-Dec 12 2025: server infrastructure, configs, and deployment processes across standard VPN, Double VPN, obfuscated, and Onion Over VPN server types. Full technical report is not published publicly — only readable by logged-in Nord Account holders. | Cure53 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsIndependent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership. |
| Jurisdiction | Panama | United StatesShow detailsHide detailsOperating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard. |
| Anonymous accounts | No | Yes |
| Network | ||
| Servers | 224+ locationsShow detailsHide details"Thousands of servers"; exact count not published, and third-party estimates vary widely — not cited as fact here. | 96 servers, 32 cities/regionsShow detailsHide detailsPer OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers. |
| Protocols | NordLynx (WireGuard)OpenVPNNordWhisper | WireGuardOpenVPN |
| Devices | 10 | 4 + 1/yearShow detailsHide details4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy. |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | NetflixBBC iPlayerDisney+Hulu | Netflix |
