OVPN vs TunnelBear Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 7.4 | 7.4 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Established | 2014 | 2011 |
| Platforms | ||
| Privacy | ||
| No-logs audit | Cure53 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsIndependent security audit completed in 2026 (after OVPN's 2023 acquisition by Pango, now part of Point Wild) — Cure53 reported no critical issues, with only a few low-to-medium-severity findings around logging verbosity in debug builds, which OVPN removed from production before release. OVPN published both a summary and the raw vulnerability triage, plus a public remediation timeline — an unusually detailed level of disclosure. This followed a separately documented 2020 Swedish Patent and Market Court case in which movie-industry rights holders failed to prove OVPN retained any logs; the court ordered the plaintiffs to pay OVPN's legal fees (108,000 SEK, about $12,300). That case predates the Pango acquisition and reflects the company under its original Swedish ownership. | Cure53 2025Show audit detailsHide audit details8th consecutive annual independent security audit, a white-box review (full source code, configuration, and backend access) conducted over 44 working days by 8 senior Cure53 auditors, blog post announcing completion published November 24, 2025. This round found 10 vulnerabilities of medium severity or higher plus 3 low-severity issues, all acknowledged and addressed or mitigated per TunnelBear. The prior (7th) audit, published February 2024, found 7 issues of medium risk or higher (5 medium, 2 high) out of 13 total. Unlike several other frequently-audited providers reviewed on this site, TunnelBear's audits consistently surface real, non-trivial findings each year rather than clean reports — presented here as a distinct trust profile (transparent about real issues, not a spotless record) rather than smoothed over. |
| Jurisdiction | United StatesShow detailsHide detailsOperating entity OVPN Inc. (per OVPN's press materials). The original entity, OVPN Integritet AB, remains registered in Sweden, where the 2020 court case was heard. | United StatesShow detailsHide detailsOperating entity TunnelBear LLC (Delaware). Data storage and operations remain under Canadian law, per TunnelBear's own privacy policy. |
| Anonymous accounts | Yes | No |
| Network | ||
| Servers | 96 servers, 32 cities/regionsShow detailsHide detailsPer OVPN's own press materials. OVPN states all server hardware is company-owned, not leased from third-party data centers. | 47 countriesShow detailsHide detailsPer TunnelBear's own homepage; exact total server count not published on the pages checked for this review. |
| Protocols | WireGuardOpenVPN | WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2 |
| Devices | 4 + 1/yearShow detailsHide details4 devices initially, +1 per year of continuous subscription — tracked without device ID, IP, or timestamps to stay consistent with the no-logs policy. | Unlimited |
| Features | ||
| Kill switch | Yes | Yes |
| Split tunneling | Yes | Yes |
| Torrenting allowed | Yes | Yes |
| Double VPN | Not specified | Not specified |
| Rotating IP | Not specified | Not specified |
| Streaming unblock | Netflix | Not specified |
