PrivacyPick

CyberGhost vs Surfshark Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.78.0
Pricing
  • $12.99/mo1 month
  • $6.99/mo6 months
  • $2.19/mo2 years + 2 months (26 months)
Show billing details
  • 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount; 14-day money-back guarantee (shorter than the 45-day window on longer plans)
  • 6 months: Auto-renews every 6 months at the same rate; 45-day money-back guarantee
  • 2 years + 2 months (26 months): $56.94 billed for the first 26 months, then autorenews at $56.94 annually — the same dollar amount both times, confirmed directly on CyberGhost's own checkout page, but the effective monthly rate still rises from $2.19/mo to ~$4.75/mo because the renewal cycle is 12 months instead of 26
  • $16.45/moStarter, 1 month
  • $3.39/moStarter, 1 year
  • $2.49/moStarter, 2 years
Show billing details
  • Starter, 1 month: Billed monthly, no discount
  • Starter, 1 year: Intro rate for the first 12 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
  • Starter, 2 years: Intro rate for the first 24 months (+3 bonus months); renews at $79/yr (~$6.58/mo, 1-year term) per Surfshark's billing-terms page
Established20112018
Platforms
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Privacy
No-logs auditDeloitte Audit Romania 2025
Show audit details

Third of three independent Deloitte Audit Romania engagements under ISAE 3000 (Revised): first as of September 22, 2022 (VPN server network and management systems); second as of January 31, 2024 (same scope, repeat engagement); third completed sometime in 2025 per a blog post last updated February 24, 2026 (exact 2025 completion date not stated more precisely), which added the dedicated-IP token-based system to scope. All three examined whether server configurations align with CyberGhost's no-logs policy and found no evidence of activity logging.

Deloitte 2025
Show audit details

Second no-logs assurance engagement (first was 2023). Report published June 16 2025, updated November 26 2025; exact assessment period not disclosed. Examined standard, static, and multiport VPN servers, configuration/deployment processes, and privacy settings. Full ISAE 3000 report is only available to logged-in Surfshark account holders, not publicly downloadable. Separately, SecuRing completed an infrastructure security audit in December 2025, confirming network resilience with no critical vulnerabilities found.

JurisdictionRomaniaNetherlands
Anonymous accountsNoNo
Network
Servers100 countries
Show details

Unlimited bandwidth. CyberGhost doesn't publish a current exact total server count on the pages checked for this review.

4,500+ servers
Show details

100 countries — consistent across Surfshark's pricing and features pages.

Protocols
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2
WireGuardOpenVPNIKEv2Dausos (macOS only)
Devices7Unlimited
Features
Kill switchYesYes
Split tunnelingYesYes
Torrenting allowedYesYes
Double VPNNot specifiedYes
Rotating IPNot specifiedYes
Streaming unblock
Netflix
Not specified