Enpass vs Proton Pass Comparison
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Rating | 6.8 | 8.5 |
| Pricing |
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
Show billing detailsHide billing details
|
| Free tier | Limited free tier | Limited free tier |
| Established | Not specified | 2023 |
| Platforms | ||
| Security | ||
| Independent security audit | None on record | Recurity Labs 2026Show audit detailsHide audit detailsSource-code review and gray-box testing of the browser extensions, mobile and desktop apps, and CLI |
| Source code | Closed source | Fully open source |
| Encryption | AES-256, PBKDF2-HMAC-SHA512 320KShow detailsHide detailsThe vault is a SQLite database encrypted via SQLCipher (AES-256-CBC). The Vault Key is derived from the Master Password — and, optionally, a keyfile — using PBKDF2-HMAC-SHA512 at 320,000 iterations, with a unique random salt per database. | AES-256-GCM, bcryptShow detailsHide detailsVault and item data are encrypted with 256-bit AES-GCM under 32-byte random keys; the user key is protected by a bcrypt hash of the account password. Authentication uses a hardened SRP implementation; sharing uses OpenPGP with ECC (Curve25519). Every field is encrypted client-side — usernames, URLs and notes included — so Proton cannot see which services you hold accounts with. Offline access on paid plans uses Argon2 for the local hash. |
| Vault 2FA | None | TOTP + hardware keys |
| Second-secret model | No | Not specified |
| Past data breach | No | No |
| Telemetry | On unless you opt out | On unless you opt out |
| Features | ||
| Hosting | Local, no cloud | Cloud |
| Passkeys | Stores for sites | Stores + unlocks |
| Built-in email aliases | No | Yes |
| Company | ||
| Owner | Enpass Technologies Inc. | Proton AGShow detailsHide detailsProton AG, Geneva, Switzerland. Since June 2024 the primary shareholder is the non-profit Proton Foundation, which the founders endowed with Proton shares in an arrangement they describe as irrevocable. Proton began as a 2014 crowdfunding campaign. |