PrivacyPick

Proton Drive vs Tresorit Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating7.76.9
Pricing
  • $4.99/mo200 GB, Drive Plus, billed monthly
  • $3.99/mo200 GB, Drive Plus for 12 months
  • $9.99/mo500 GB, Proton Unlimited for 12 months
  • $14.99/mo2 TB for up to 2 users, Proton Duo for 12 months
  • $23.99/mo3 TB for up to 6 users, Proton Family for 12 months
Show billing details
  • 200 GB, Drive Plus for 12 months: $47.88 every 12 months
  • 500 GB, Proton Unlimited for 12 months: $119.88 every 12 months
  • 2 TB for up to 2 users, Proton Duo for 12 months: $179.88 every 12 months
  • 3 TB for up to 6 users, Proton Family for 12 months: $287.88 every 12 months
  • $5.99/mo50 GB, Personal Lite monthly
  • $4.75/mo50 GB, Personal Lite for 1 year
  • $13.99/mo1 TB, Personal Essential monthly
  • $11.99/mo1 TB, Personal Essential for 1 year
  • $33.99/mo4 TB, Personal Pro monthly
  • $27.49/mo4 TB, Personal Pro for 1 year
Show billing details
  • 50 GB, Personal Lite monthly: $5.99 a month
  • 50 GB, Personal Lite for 1 year: $57 billed yearly
  • 1 TB, Personal Essential monthly: $13.99 a month
  • 1 TB, Personal Essential for 1 year: $143.88 billed yearly
  • 4 TB, Personal Pro monthly: $33.99 a month
  • 4 TB, Personal Pro for 1 year: $329.88 billed yearly
Free storage5 GB3 GB
Lifetime planNoNo
Established20222011
Platforms
WebWindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
WebWindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
Encryption & keys
Who holds the keysYou hold the keys
Show details

File contents, file and folder names and thumbnail previews are encrypted on your device with keys generated there (OpenPGP, Curve25519). Proton can see creation and modification times, permissions, the username that uploaded each file and the size of the encrypted file. The web app receives its encryption code from Proton's servers every time it loads.

You hold the keys
Show details

Tresorit says files, file names and subfolder names are encrypted on your device, each with its own key. The names of top-level folders, their size and member list, and file size, type and creation time are not end-to-end encrypted. Recipients' public keys are vouched for by Tresorit's own certificate authority. Web Access decrypts files in your browser with code that Tresorit serves on every visit.

Also encryptedFile names onlyFile names only
SharingShared files stay encryptedShared files stay encrypted
If you lose the passwordRecovery key you keepData is lost
Trust & transparency
Client codeFully open sourceClosed source
Server codeClosed sourceClosed source
Reproducible buildsNot specifiedNot specified
Security auditSecuritum (2022, paid for by the company)
Show details

Penetration tests of the web app (September to October 2021), the Android app with its API (July to August 2022) and the iOS app (August to September 2022); no Drive audit report for the Windows or macOS apps is published

EY Advanced Security Center (2019, paid for by the company)
Show details

Penetration tests, a source code review and a cryptographic review of the end-to-end encryption and the web, mobile and desktop apps, carried out in August and September 2019. Commissioned by Tresorit.

JurisdictionSwitzerland
Show details

Operated by Proton AG, Route de la Galaise 32, 1228 Plan-les-Ouates, Geneva. Proton says it owns its server hardware in Switzerland and Germany; the Drive security page does not say which of the two countries holds Drive files. Proton discloses data only on a binding order from Swiss authorities.

Switzerland
Show details

Tresorit AG is registered in Zurich, and its terms are governed by Swiss law. Files of personal accounts outside Switzerland are stored on Microsoft Azure in Ireland, and files of Swiss customers in Switzerland; account metadata is always stored in Ireland.

OwnerProton Foundation
Show details

Proton AG's primary shareholder is the non-profit Proton Foundation, based in Geneva. Proton states it has no venture capital investors.

Swiss Post
Show details

Swiss Post acquired a majority stake in July 2021. Tresorit says it remains an independent company within the Swiss Post group, which runs it as part of its digital business services.

TelemetryOn unless you opt outOn unless you opt out
Past data breachNoNo
Features & sync
Desktop syncYesYes
File versionsExtended
Show details

Free plan: up to 10 versions of each file, kept for up to 7 days. Paid plans: up to 200 versions of each file, kept for up to 10 years, with adjustable settings.

Limited
Show details

Personal Lite keeps 5 previous versions of each file, Personal Essential 10 and Personal Pro 25. Earlier versions can be downloaded but not set back as the current file. Deleted files and subfolders can be restored from the trash; deleted top-level folders cannot.

Collaborative editingEnd-to-end encryptedNot available