PrivacyPick

Dropbox vs Proton Drive Comparison

Feature
Overview
Rating5.17.7
Pricing
  • $11.99/mo2 TB, Plus monthly
  • $9.99/mo2 TB, Plus for 1 year
  • $18.00/mo3 TB, Standard monthly, per user
  • $15.00/mo3 TB, Standard for 1 year, per user
Show billing details
  • 2 TB, Plus monthly: $11.99 a month
  • 2 TB, Plus for 1 year: $9.99 a month, billed yearly
  • 3 TB, Standard monthly, per user: $18 per user a month
  • 3 TB, Standard for 1 year, per user: $15 per user a month, billed yearly
  • $4.99/mo200 GB, Drive Plus, billed monthly
  • $3.99/mo200 GB, Drive Plus for 12 months
  • $9.99/mo500 GB, Proton Unlimited for 12 months
  • $14.99/mo2 TB for up to 2 users, Proton Duo for 12 months
  • $23.99/mo3 TB for up to 6 users, Proton Family for 12 months
Show billing details
  • 200 GB, Drive Plus for 12 months: $47.88 every 12 months
  • 500 GB, Proton Unlimited for 12 months: $119.88 every 12 months
  • 2 TB for up to 2 users, Proton Duo for 12 months: $179.88 every 12 months
  • 3 TB for up to 6 users, Proton Family for 12 months: $287.88 every 12 months
Free storage2 GB5 GB
Lifetime planNoNo
Established20072022
Platforms
WebWindowsmacOSLinuxAndroidiOS
WebWindowsmacOSAndroidiOS
Encryption & keys
Who holds the keysProvider holds the keys
Show details

Dropbox encrypts stored files with 256-bit AES and manages the keys itself, so its servers decrypt files to show previews and thumbnails, run search and text recognition, and check content against its rules. File names, types and sizes sit in a separate metadata database. End-to-end encrypted team folders exist only on the Advanced, Business Plus and Enterprise team plans; personal plans have no setting that keeps the keys away from Dropbox.

You hold the keys
Show details

File contents, file and folder names and thumbnail previews are encrypted on your device with keys generated there (OpenPGP, Curve25519). Proton can see creation and modification times, permissions, the username that uploaded each file and the size of the encrypted file. The web app receives its encryption code from Proton's servers every time it loads.

Also encryptedNothing beyond server-side protectionFile names only
SharingShared files are readable by the providerShared files stay encrypted
If you lose the passwordProvider can reset accessRecovery key you keep
Trust & transparency
Client codeClosed sourceFully open source
Server codeClosed sourceClosed source
Reproducible buildsNot specifiedNot specified
Security auditNone on recordSecuritum (2022, paid for by the company)
Show details

Penetration tests of the web app (September to October 2021), the Android app with its API (July to August 2022) and the iOS app (August to September 2022); no Drive audit report for the Windows or macOS apps is published

JurisdictionUnited States
Show details

Users in the United States, Canada and Mexico contract with Dropbox, Inc. in San Francisco; everyone else with Dropbox International Unlimited Company in Ireland, which is the controller of their personal data. The terms are governed by California law unless local law requires otherwise. Dropbox runs its production systems in data centers in the United States and says it may store and process data in other countries as well.

Switzerland
Show details

Operated by Proton AG, Route de la Galaise 32, 1228 Plan-les-Ouates, Geneva. Proton says it owns its server hardware in Switzerland and Germany; the Drive security page does not say which of the two countries holds Drive files. Proton discloses data only on a binding order from Swiss authorities.

OwnerDropbox, Inc.
Show details

Listed on Nasdaq under DBX. Drew Houston co-founded Dropbox in 2007 and is now co-CEO.

Proton Foundation
Show details

Proton AG's primary shareholder is the non-profit Proton Foundation, based in Geneva. Proton states it has no venture capital investors.

TelemetryAlways onOn unless you opt out
Past data breachYesNo
Features & sync
Desktop syncYesYes
File versionsLimited
Show details

Earlier versions and deleted files can be restored for 30 days on Basic and Plus, 180 days on Standard and 365 days on Advanced. Google Docs, Paper docs and Office Online files are not covered.

Extended
Show details

Free plan: up to 10 versions of each file, kept for up to 7 days. Paid plans: up to 200 versions of each file, kept for up to 10 years, with adjustable settings.

Collaborative editingOn the provider's serverEnd-to-end encrypted